Connect with us


Reps Ticket: Constituents Allegedly Reject Agboworin’s Second Term Bid In Ibadan



The plan of Hon. Abass Adigun Agboworin to secure second term ticket to represent Ibadan South East and Ibadan North East Federal constituency at the Federal House of Representatives met a brickwall as majority of the leaders and stakeholders of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the area have allegedly rejected his ambition.

It was gathered that at the commencement of the meeting held at the house of the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs in Oyo State, Barrister Bayo Lawal, the leaders of the party from Ibadan South East Local Government made passionate appeal to their counterparts from Ibadan North East to concede the ticket to Ibadan South East, where the incumbent came from on the grounds that the people of Ibadan North East are currently holding juicy positions; both elected and appointed in this dispensation.

It was gathered that majority of the stakeholders and PDP leaders from Ibadan North East, while acceding to the request, vehemently rejected Hon. Abass Adigun Agboworin who, according to them, neglected the leaders of the party immediately he assumed office in 2019.

Sources said that Hon. Dare Adeleke however, pleaded with those present at the meeting to give automatic ticket to Hon. Agboworin, but this reportedly rejected by the majority with a warning that any attempt to impose Hon. Agboworin on the party might spell doom and could result in anarchy in the party.

They warned PDP leaders from Ibadan South East Local Government not to repeat the mistake of 2019, while presenting a candidate among the aspirants that are jostling for the House of Representatives ticket.

It was gathered that Hon. Funmi Arulogun specifically told the leaders of the party at the meeting that Ibadan South East must present a candidate, who is a complete party man that will not take them for granted.

It was gathered that Hon. Arulogun made this statement despite the fact that Hon. Agboworin was at the meeting.

We were informed that the suggestion by Hon
Arulogun that a fresh and credible candidate must be presented for the office was supported by Mogaji Wale Oladoja, Hon. Muhammadu Inakoju, Alhaji Abidikugu, Kunmi Adesina and others.

The leaders, who opposed Hon. Dare Adeleke’s suggestion that automatic ticket should be given to Agboworin called on the Oyo State Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde and Deputy National Chairman of the PDP (South West), Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja to respect the decision of the majority of the stakeholders for a fresh and popular candidate, who will respect the leaders of the party and that he should come from Ibadan South East Local Government.

They promised to bring the decision to the notice of Governor Seyi Makinde and Ambassador Arapaja at the enlarged stakeholders meeting slated for today at the Government House, Agodi, Ibadan.

Those present at the stakeholders meeting from the two local governments were Chief Bayo Lawal, Barrister Muyiwa Makinde, Hon. Dare Adeleke, Mogaji Abass Oloko, Hon. Funmi Arulogun, Alhaji Akeem Azeez (Gov. Makinde’s Personal Assistant), Hon. Kunmi Adesina, Hon. Gbenga Adewusi (Arole), Alhaji Abidikugu, Hon. Emmanuel Alawode and.Hon. Ibrahim Akintayo,

Others in attendance included Hon. Muhammadu Inakoju, Mogaji Wale Oladoja, Hon. Fatai Adesina, Alhaji Hazzan, Hon. Remi Yusuff, Hon. Abiodun Adedoja (Ekolo), Alhaji Dauda Yusuff, Senatorial Women Leader, Senatorial Youth Leader, party Chairmen in the two local governments, Hon. Akeem Ademola Ige, Hon. Abass Adigun (Agboworin), who are aspirants for the House of Representatives election, among others.

However, Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja, who is also a major stakeholder in the said federal constituency was absent at that meeting.

Click to comment

Notice: Undefined variable: user_ID in /var/www/first2023/wp-content/themes/firstweekly/comments.php on line 48

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply