Connect with us


Just- In: Tinubu Withdraws Maryam Shetty As Ministerial Nominee, Submits Keyamo, Mahmud As Ministers



President Bola Tinubu has withdrawn the nomination of Maryam Shetty as a minister.

The president has also added Festus Keyamo, former minister of state of Labour, to the nomination list.

This was made known by the President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio while reading out a letter from President Bola Tinubu at Friday’s plenary.

The nominee from Kano State was replaced with Mairiga Mahmoud.

Festus Keyamo (SAN) the immediate past Minister of Labour and Productivity hails from Delta State and with this, the number of ministerial nominees is now 48

Tinubu in the letter addressed to Akpabio, and read at plenary on Friday, said:
“In compliance to the provision of section 147 sub section 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended.
“And sequel to my earlier correspondence dated August 2, 2023.
“I resolved to withdraw the nomination of Dr. Maryam Shetty.
“Furthermore, I am pleased to nominate Dr Mariga Mahmud and Mr Festus Keyamo for consideration, and if been fit, confirm by the Senate as ministers.
“While hoping the above request will receive the kind consideration and approval of the senate, please accept Distinguished Senate President and distinguished Senators the assurances of my highest regard”.