Connect with us


EFCC Detains Edo Speaker, Majority Leader



The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), has detained three APC members of Edo State ?House of Assembly.
The detained members are the Speaker, Hon. Uyi Igbe, (Oredo West Constituency), the Majority Leader, Hon. Philip Shaibu, (Etsako West Constituency 2) and the Chief Whip, Hon. Folly Ogedegbe (Owan East Constituency).The trio had announced last Monday during plenary that the anti-graft agency invited them last week to appear in its Abuja office yesterday (Wednesday).
?They however linked the invitation to the ongoing crisis in the State Assembly, adding that they are being persecuted by the PDP-led federal government.

It would be recalled that Hon. Shaibu had two weeks ago disclosed that he had been compelled to appear before the EFCC 18 times in the recent past.
?Full detail of the arrest and detention of the three lawmakers remains sketchy as at the time of filling this report.
The House Committee on Information Chairman, Hon. Kabiru Adjoto, and other members of the committee were making arrangements to brief the press in the premises of the vandalised legislators’ quarters.

Click to comment

Notice: Undefined variable: user_ID in /var/www/first2023/wp-content/themes/firstweekly/comments.php on line 48

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply