Connect with us


Aliko Dangote, Aisha Buhari, Others To Be Honoured As Africa Goodwill Ambassadors



Some Africans, who played significant roles in the fight against the deadly Coronavirus Pandemic that have led to the gradual reduction in it’s spread in the African continent are about to be rewarded for their efforts.

These individuals, have through donations and selfless humanitarian services, ensured that the mortality rate of the virus is minimal in the continent.

This has prompted the Goodwill Ambassador Events Agency dedicating this year’s African Goodwill Ambassador Awards to these individuals, who contributed immensely to the fight against COVID-19.

African Goodwill Ambassador is an international body of humanitarian service providers, excellent leaders, community developers, and Peace Ambassadors.

The awards ceremony is to celebrate the unique attributes of groups and individuals, who are constantly selflessly reaching out to those in need positively across the globe.

Nominated to benefit this year under the COVID-19 Pandemic Most Proactive Nigerian State Governor of the Year are: Delta State Governor, Sen. Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Gov. Ben Ayade, Gov. Nyesom Wike, Gov. Oluseyi Makinde, Gov. El-Rufai, Gov. Udom Emmanuel, Gov. Prof Babagana Umara Zulum mni, Gov. Okezie Ikpeazu and Gov. Dr. Bello Mohammed.

Other recipients of the 2020 African Goodwill Ambassador Awards (AGAA) include Africa’s wealthiest man and Chairman of Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, First Lady of Nigeria, Hajia Aisha Buhari, the Chairman of Air Peace, Mr. Allen Onyeama, and billionaire businessman, Mr. Femi Otedola.

These eminent personalities are among 30 African men and women of honour and integrity listed on the African Humanitarian Hall of Fame.

Also included are some organisations that are actively involved directly or indirectly in helping the African Continent conquer the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Other Nigerians nominated for their contributions towards fighting the pandemic are: Deaconess Martha Udom Emmanuel, First Lady of Akwa Ibom State, Mrs. Gloria Douye Diri, First Lady of Bayelsa State, Mrs. Regina Bako Lalong, First Lady of Plateau State, Engr. (Mrs.) Tamunominini Olufunke Makinde, First Lady of Oyo State, Dr Zainab Shinkafi Bagudu, First Lady of Kebbi State, Barr. Mrs. Chioma Uzodimma, First Lady of Imo State, and Mrs. Betsy Bene Obaseki, First Lady of Edo State.

Others are Hajiya Aisha Bello Matawalle, First Lady of Zamfara State, Hon. Justice (Mrs.) Eberechi Suzzette Wike, First Lady of Rivers State, and Dr. (Mrs.) Linda Ayade, First Lady of Cross River State.

Also listed for honour are the chairman of BUA Group, Abdul-Samad Rabiu, the Director-General of the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control NCDC, Dr. Chikwe Ihekweazu, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation and Chairman of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha, and Minister of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire.

Also to be recognized are the following organisations; the NCDC, Red Cross, United Nations, Access Bank, Living Faith Church, CNN, BBC, Channels TV, AIT, and NTA.

While addressing the media, the Founder of African Goodwill Ambassador Awards (AGAA), Ambassador Chris Odey said that nominations were done via the social media.

According to him, “these individuals and corporate bodies played important roles alongside many others in ensuring that Africa and Africans do not slip into a devastating COVID-19 outbreak.”

Click to comment

Notice: Undefined variable: user_ID in /var/www/first2023/wp-content/themes/firstweekly/comments.php on line 48

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply