Connect with us


‘Thugs’ invade Ondo assembly



Suspected political thugs invaded the Ondo state house of assembly on Monday morning.

The suspected thugs converged on the assembly complex ahead of the arrival of lawmakers who are loyalists of Agboola Ajayi, the deputy governor.

The lawmakers are Ogundeji Iroju (Odigbo constituency), Wale Williams (Ondo constituency I), Tomide Akinribido (Ondo constituency II), and Favour Tomomowo (Ilaje constituency II).

The pro-Ajayi lawmakers had earlier been suspended but a high court in Akure, the state capital, voided their suspension.

They were planning to resume at plenary on Monday but the suspects laid siege to the assembly.

Three out of the lawmakers are members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) while Akinribodo is a member of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), the party Ajayi defected to after losing the governorship ticket of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The deputy governor is the gubernatorial candidate of ZLP for the October 10 election.

He had defected from the APC, in June, after falling out with the governor.

Security was beefed up within the assembly complex after the arrival of the suspected thugs.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply