Connect with us


Lagos Assembly Constitutes 32 Standing Committees



The Lagos State House of Assembly, on Monday constituted new standing committees of the House, raising the number from the usual 24 to 32 committees of the House.
This was contained in a motion titled “Amendment of the Standing Committees of the Lagos State House of Assembly”, presented on the floor of the House on Monday by the Majority Leader, Sanai Agunbiade.
Agunbiade, while presenting the motion, noted that pursuant to the House resolution dated Tuesday, June 16, 2015, the House set up a &-man Ad hoc committee with a mandate to break up the standing committees of the House as contained in the business rules and standing orders of the House into smaller units.
This according to Agunbiade was to enhance efficiency and review the Business, Rules and Standing Orders of the House of Assembly to amend inherent errors.
He further noted that shortly after the constitution of the Ad hoc Committee on the responsibilities cited above, the Governor of the state announced by Executive Order (No. EO/AA01 of 2015) changes to the composition, duties and nomenclature of some Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) of the state.
“This House also realised that the changes in the ministerial responsibilities and nomenclatures of the affected MDAs, will cause consequential changes in the oversight functions of corresponding House Committees, different from what is hitherto obtainable.
“The House also recognises that the Ad hoc Committee has carried out the task entrusted to it and has unbundled the twenty-four (24) standing committees originally contained in the Business, Rules and Standing Orders of the House to achieve a new committee structure of thirty-two (32),” Agunbiade stated.
The newly constituted committees are: Committees on Selection; Business, Rules and Standing Orders; Ethics, Protocol and Privilege; Public Accounts (State); Public Accounts (Local Government); Agriculture; House Services; Economic Planning and Budget; Education; Science and Technology; the Environment.

Committees on Establishment, Training and Pension; Energy and Mineral Resources; Waterfront Infrastructure Development; Physical Planning and Urban Development; Transportation; Commerce, Industries and Cooperatives; Women Affairs, Poverty Alleviation and Job Creation.
Others are: Works and Infrastructure; Wealth Creation and Employment; Finance; Health; Home Affairs; Tourism, Arts and Culture; Youth and Social Development; Judiciary, Human Rights, Public Petitions and LASIEC; Lands; Housing; Information and Strategy; Central Business Districts; Special Duties and Inter Governmental Relations; and Local Government Administration and Community Affairs.
The Majority Leader pointed out that the House was aware that the Ad hoc committee required the ratification of the House by a way of resolution, to include the above listed committees, as the new standing committees of the House, adding that the ratification by a way of resolution will enable the House constitute members of the new committees.
The House, however, resolved that the afore-mentioned committees, shall be the new standing committees of the House and that the Ad hoc committee for the review of the Business, Rules and Standing Orders of the House, should incorporate the committees in the on-going amendment of the business rules, as the new committees of the House.
The House is like to share the committee on Tuesday at its resumed plenary session.

Hon. Sanai Agunbiade

Click to comment

Notice: Undefined variable: user_ID in /var/www/first2023/wp-content/themes/firstweekly/comments.php on line 48

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply