Connect with us


Godknows Igali, Ararume, UNICAL VC… the 45 aspirants APC cleared for bye-election primaries



The All Progressives Congress (APC) has cleared 45 aspirants seeking the party’s ticket for the upcoming bye-elections in different legislative constituencies.

Among the list of the aspirants in the September 3 bye-elections are ex-lawmakers and former senior government officials.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has scheduled October 31 for the bye-elections to fill 12 vacant national and state assemblies seats across eight states.

Six of the seats are of the national assembly while the remaining six are of state assemblies.

In a statement on Tuesday, Yekini Naben, APC spokesman, said the party cleared all the aspirants who purchased expression of interest and nomination forms to contest in the primaries.

Only one aspirant each was listed for four state constituencies as well as Lagos east senatorial district which has Mukhail Abiru, former Lagos commissioner for finance.

Ifeanyi Ararume, a former senator, is seeking to contest the Imo north senatorial election alongside Chidinma Uwajumogu, the sister to the late occupant of the seat; and Mathew Omegara, a former member of the house of representatives.

Godknows Bolaji Igali, a former permanent secretary in the federal ministry of power who is vying for the APC ticket in the Bayelsa central senatorial district, is being challenged by Henry Daniel Ofongo, current member of the house of representatives.

For the Bayelsa west senatorial poll, among the three APC aspirants is Peremobowei Ebebi, former deputy governor of the state.

Among the contenders for the Cross River north senatorial election is Zana Itiunbe Akpagu, outgoing vice-chancellor of the University of Calabar (UNICAL) while Doknan Danjuma Sheni, a former vice-chancellor of Plateau State University, is seeking to contest for Plateau south senatorial district.

Below is the full list of aspirants cleared by APC:

Imo north senatorial district

  • 1. Ifeanyi Godwin Ararume
  • 2. Mathew Omegara
  • 3. Achonu Athanasius Nneji
  • 4. Uchendu Maric Chijioke
  • 5. Ibezim Chukwuma Frank
  • 6. Uwajumogu Edith Chidinma
  • 7. Uchenna Onyeiwu Ubah
  • 8. Okoro Eze Joachim
  • 9. Nwachukwu Bright Uchenna
  • 10. Onuoha Chikwem Chijioke
  • 11. Ihim Iheanacho (Acho) Celestine

Cross River North senatorial district

  • 1. Ochicha Odey Anthony
  • 2. Joe Odey Anthony, SAN
  • 3. Harry Godwin Odey
  • 4. Zana Itiunbe Akpagu
  • 5. Fidelis Ebi Egoro

Obudu state constituency (Cross River)

  • 1. Agbor Godwin Adase

Bayelsa west senatorial districtAdvertisement

  • 1. Mathew Karimo
  • 2. Omonikeke Kemelayefa
  • 3. Ebebi Peremobowei

Bayelsa central senatorial district

  • 1. Festus Dauniebi Sunday
  • 2. Abel Ebifemowei
  • 3. Timipa Tiwei Orunimigbe
  • 4. Henry Daniel Ofongo
  • 5. Godknows Bolaji Igali

Plateau south senatorial district

  • 1. Doknan Danjuma Sheni
  • 2. Nanvel Nimfel
  • 3. Prof. Emmanuel Joseph Daniyang
  • 4. Nora Ladi Daduut
  • 5. Damian Dongnaán Shekarau

Kosofe II state constituency (Lagos)

  • 1. Saheed Wasiu Obafemi

Lagos east senatorial districtAdvertisement

  • 1. Mukhail Adetokunbo Abiru

Nganzi state constituency (Borno)

  • 1. Mohammed Ali Gajiradi

Bayo state constituency (Borno)

  • 1. Maigari M. Abare

Bakura state constituency (Zamfara)

  • 1. Bello Dankande Gamji
  • 2. Lawali Isa
  • 3. Saídu Dan Bala
  • 4. Sani Mohammed Yar’kofogi

Ibaji state constituency (Kogi)

  • 1. Mathew Omachonu Eguche
  • 2. Patrick Obwu Abah
  • 3. Joseph Enemona
  • 4. Jerry Omaiwala
  • 5. Moses Emmanuel Commander
  • 6. Atule Egbunu
  • 7. Ogwu Harry Uba
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply