Connect with us

Society News

Excitements As Omo Aj’orosun Club Holds Youth-Friendly Anniversary



Former Oyo State first lady, Chief (Mrs.) Olayinka Mutiat Ladoja has commended members of Omo Aj’orosun Club of Ibadan over what she described as youth-friendly development plans.

Speaking with newsmen at the grand finale of 42nd Omo Aj’orosun Day held at the Club House Agodi GRA Ibadan, Mutiat urged Ibadan sons and daughters both home and abroad to come home and develop their fathers’ land.

Mrs. Mutiat Ladoja, who doubles as the Agbaakin Iyalode of Ibadanland as well as the chairperson of the event said, ” I’m so glad today for what I met here. I’m so happy and surprised with what I saw here today because members of Aj’orosun Club of Ibadan have done so well that the Ibadan indigenes in the diaspora will be thinking of coming home to also contribute their quota to the development of Ibadanland.”

The Agbaakin Iyalode of Ibadanland called on the President of the club, Alhaji Abiola Alli and other members of the club to ensure that they contact all Ibadan indigenes that are doing well in their various fields irrespective of where they are around the world to come home and contribute to the development of their fathers’ land, stressing that there is no place like home.

She said, “as an indigene of Ibadan, we must belong to one club or the other in order to collectively contribute to the growth and development of Ibadan. Whether you are a male or female we must continue to do our best to move our city forward.

“The development of our town must be on top of our agenda. I commend the efforts of the club for their commitment and contributions to the development of Ibadan. I’m pledging my support to the club and I’m ready to do whatever I can to ensure that the club moves forward. Ibadan is progressing because it is home of hospitality, we are so friendly to all tribes and that is why you see us progressing in Ibadan,” Mutiat said.

Earlier in his welcome remark, the President of the Club, Alhaji Abiola Alli, said that the theme of this year’s celebration is ‘The Making of Omo of the Future;” which he said is tailored towards achieving a bigger and better club that will be at the forefront in the areas of giving support to the less privileged in the society.

Alli noted that Omo Aj’orosun will, in the future, be complementing the efforts of the state government in stemming the tide of insecurity to the barest minimum and building a virile economic base for Ibadanland and by extension Oyo State.

He said, “I see Omo Aj’orosun as a club that will supporting the state government in the provision of employment opportunities for our people, and also ensuring that the welfare of our people receives a boost and promotion of our cultural heritage.”

Alhaji Abiola Alli, the 21st President of the Club, commended Engr. Seyi Makinde the executive governor of Oyo State, who was represented by the state Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy matters, Mr Bayo Lawal, for his giant stride in the areas of education, security, infrastructural development, cultural rejuvenation, urban renewal and employment creation among others.

Alli however stated that Omo Aj’orosun club, during the activities of its 42nd Anniversary donated writing materials to all the six secondary schools that participated in the debate competition, while a bursary award was given to eleven secondary school students across the eleven local government areas in Ibadanland.

He also maintained that the club, as part of activities marking the 42nd anniversary, donated food items and wheelchairs among others to the less privileged in lbadan metropolis.

Omo Aj’orosun 2022 scholarship award winners that were selected based on merit from all the local government areas across Ibadan metropolis are Onaolapo Abidat from Akinyele LGA, a student of the Federal University of Technology Akure, Akindele Sunday, (Egbeda LGA), LAUTECH student, Omotosho Olusola (Ido LGA), Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife, Ojoawo Faith (Lagelu LGA) Ekiti State University, Ogunmuyiwa Funmilayo (Ona – Ara LGA) the Federal University Of Oye-Ekiti, Ibisomi Azizat (Oluyole LGA), and Adeseun Ogundoyin, Polytechnic Eruwa.

Others are Oyediran Alaba (Ibadan North), The Polytechnic Ibadan, Salaudeen Islamiyat (Ibadan South East LGA), Tai Solarin University of Education, Ogeroju Damilola (Ibadan North West) Federal University of Technology Akure, Oguntayo Samuel (Ibadan North East LGA) The Polytechnic Ibadan, and Animashaun Temilade (Ibadan South West) the Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta.

The event was chaired by Professor Oladapo Afolabi, while rtd. Justice Badejoko Adeniji was the mother of the day.

Other dignitaries that graced the occasion included Oloye Lekan Alabi, Chief Sarafadeen Alli, and former Commissioner for Finance, Budget and Planning in the state, Bimbo Adekambi, Hon. Dapo Lam, among others.

Music was supplied by popular Fuji artiste, Alhaji Abass Akande Obesere.

– Kunle Bakare.