Connect with us


APC names Sanwo-Olu chairman of Ondo campaign council



The All Progressives Congress (APC) has appointed Babajide Sanwo-Olu, governor of Lagos, as the chairman of the national campaign council for the Ondo state governorship election.

In a statement, Yekini Nabena, deputy publicity secretary of the APC, said Simon Lalong, governor of Plateau will serve as deputy chairman of the council of 104 members.

“Governor Babajide Sanwoolu Heads 104-Member APC National Campaign Council for Ondo State Governorship Election,” signed by the Deputy National Publicity Secretary of the party, Yekini Nabena, in Abuja, late Tuesday,” the statement read.

“The Chairman of the Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Governor Mai Mala Buni has approved the appointment of the Governor of Lagos State, H.E. Babajide Sanwoolu to chair the Party’s high-level National Campaign Council for the Ondo State Governorship Election.

“The Governor of Plateau State, H.E. Simon Lalong will serve as Deputy Chairman and Comrade Mustapha Salihu as Secretary of the 104-member APC National Campaign Council.

“The campaign council will be inaugurated on Saturday 15th August, 2020 at the APC National Secretariat by 2pm.”

Some of the members of the council are Ovie Omo-Agege, deputy senate president; Femi Gbajabiamila, speaker of the house of representatives, Rauf Aregbesola, minister of interior; Babatunde Fashola, minister of works and housing, and Rotimi Amaechi, minister of transportation.

In the governorship election slated for October 10, Rotimi Akeredolu, incumbent governor and candidate of the APC, will  face Eyitayo Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply